Spreading yourself thin on the internet?

Published July 10, 2012 by ltwilton

I keep reading that these days a writer needs to do a lot of their own marketing and that the internet is a tool (so use it! use it!) but so far I’m failing abysmally at this task. I don’t know whether I’m coming or going with twitter, twiends, digg, delicious, twellow, technorati, blah, blah, blah. I’m verifying accounts left, right and centre and I have no real idea how to use any of these things.

I feel like I might be spreading myself a little think across the net. I’ve started to try and build a little community of fellow writers, appreciators of art, empathisers, sympathisers and general nice people but I feel like I’m in a world where everyone has special glasses of knowing and I’m the only one walking around with two eyes.

There are people who know how to do this sort of shit. Heck, there are people out there who get paid to do this shit for other people but I don’t fancy spending my current zippo levels of cash on that kind of party.

The other hilarious thing is that I can’t currently ask much by way of comments and opinion from people as I don’t really have very many followers. (And no, not telling. Look for yourself!)

So, people, for the love of god, tell me this: are any of these sites worth using and will they work to increase the traffic to my blog, get me some more followers and generally bring me my heart’s desire?

I feel like the desperate kid in the line being last picked for the football team.

For those of you with experience in this field, I will search you down and find your advice. If I haven’t found you yet, please direct me and I’ll get there eventually.

2 comments on “Spreading yourself thin on the internet?

  • Hello Lisa, you have a new follower…moi!

    I have two books being launched in the UK next year (I’m Australian) I have a traditional publisher but like you I am trying to build up a presence on social media, via twitter, FB author page and a website. By all means try your hand at articles, I find them just as creatively fulfilling as any other writing. My website address if you want to have a look is http://www.paulineconolly.com I think the website will prove to be the most worthwhile, although my FB page has led to some lovely connections with other writers. Best of luck to you!

    • Hurrah! I have a new follower and such a lovely one too! I just had a look at your website Pauline. It really looks great. I’d love to know how you got it looking like that if you ever have time to give me a few tips. And, I’d like to get other writers guest blogging on my site in the future if you’re ever interested? Just going to look for you now on twitter as well. Take care.

  • Leave a Reply

        Pub(lishing) Crawl

    Reading you under the table since 2012

    DeeScribewriting Blog

    Young Adult authors, books, childrens' writers, authors, interviews and reviews

    igarin1963

    WRITING

    Lisa Wilton

    Writer, mother, pet lover, cat whisperer, baby tamer.

    Daily (w)rite

    A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

    K.T. Hanna

    for the love of words

    ellisnelson

    children's author

    myothervoices

    Human, animal and other voices not my own

    Jess Faraday

    Found in Translation

    Linda Parkinson-Hardman

    author + social entrepreneur + social media trainer

    David Gaughran

    Let's Get Digital

    Writing Reconsidered

    A strange journey through the worlds of writing and publishing

    Kristen Lamb

    Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

    Freelance Writing Blog

    A blog about freelance writing.

    The WordPress.com Blog

    The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

